Restless in Robinson

Posted: November 7, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Needing a road ride, I instead settled for Robinson. With its fast, hard-packed trails, I can keep my speed up consistently—more like a road ride.

See Tuesday, September 24 Ride (Note: left the Garmin on again after the ride!)

Problem is…I can’t remember a DAMN thing about this ride! Boy I have to keep up with this blog more! A little help here…anyone?

I do know this, while the ride I did (by looking at the Garmin), was fairly typical, that’s what I love about the place. Usually I stay away from the park itself instead choosing the mostly manmade trails. I have favorite “runs” through the tight twisty trails where I let off the brakes and let the bike practically steer itself. The familiarity is comforting as I know the wheels will hold against the trail. I know the turns, I know the bumps. Every root is anticipated. Every hill is expected. Sometimes it’s how you arrange the ride, choosing a trail out of order from usual. Sometimes it’s just arranging the ride to maximize the fun “whoop-de-doos.” There are ones I usually do close to the parking lot, there are ones I hit in the middle. In between I am riding as fast as I can, just short of my back wheel sliding out from under me.

We ride a lot in Bear Hole favoring the rocky ridges. We also enjoy other ridge lines north and south along the M&M trail. Eventually I am sick of what I call the “bouncy-bouncy.” I need a break from the slower, technically difficult trails. Like Elvis, I am all shook up!

And then I am back in Robinson.

Leave a comment